Rave Review | All Your Perfects by Colleen Hoover

⭐⭐⭐⭐

All Your Perfects is about a married couple who can’t conceive a child. This book handles the aftermath of that, and the beginnings of a relationship predicated on the hope of future children.

After reading Confess, I was swearing off reading Colleen Hoover books because I hated that book. But then I started watching this Booktuber named Jacqueline and she reviewed the book so I really felt like I had to read it and I was very surprised at how much this book straight up broke me. 

Things I liked: 

The dual timeline – there was something so beautiful about the reading about the beginning and end of something, especially something as special as a marriage. A lot of romance novels focus on the good times and most of the time focus on the getting together part of the relationship but never on what happens when your hopes and dreams don’t come true. This was a very important story to tell and I think it was done well. I was crying at the end. 
I enjoyed the mother-daughter relationship and how that was talked about. It felt real. 

Things I didn’t like: 

SPOILERS AHEAD

I didn’t like the way that the cheating was explained away. Their lack of communication was astonishingly bad. I’ve never dealt with something like this personally but her inability to talk about her feelings with her HUSBAND means that their relationship is not built on solid ground. They did talk about how they got together but there was just something in the fact that the sex was primary in the relationship even if they didn’t do it when they first met. But instead of talking through anything, they just had sex and then when she couldn’t do that without the pain of not being able to conceive, she just physically withdrew herself.

I would have to give this a 4. There were too many things that I couldn’t look over, but overall, it needed to be told, even if it was dysfunctional. 

2019 ATY Challenge – A book from the 2018 Goodreads choice awards 

Leave a comment