Review | Before The Devil Breaks You

Before The Devil Breaks You // Libba Bray

“The moment your country first sinned, I emerged, slick and formless. Born of your restless ambition. Your greed, and hunger. You, who tell yourselves a story of yourselves. Do you imagine you can rid yourselves of me? You have created me! I am you, incarnate—a new god for a brave new world. I am written into your history now. I am written into you. And oh! What a nation of glorious dreamers and devourers!”

The hardest thing about reviewing a book in an ongoing series, is everything that I talk about is a spoiler. 

EVERYTHING. 

There are so many things that I want to say. I had a lot of emotions about this book. All the characters have me enraptured. I genuinely care about them and I’m rooting for their success! 

I was disappointed in a couple of scenes, which is why it won’t get 5/5 stars, but it’s still a solid read and well worth the 6 hours. 

This is the first book that I have finished the author’s notes. Usually, I’m done when the end of the novel is, but I have carried on being hungry for more information. The amount of research and care that has been put into this book series is something to be admired. It took me an entire weekend to finish this book and I found myself wanting to steal away from friends to dive back into this world. 

Also, there are a couple of historical figures that make appearances in this book. 

There is love, death, fear, desire, sex, and tests of loyalty. Nothing is what you think it will be.

NOTHING.

I am patiently waiting for the next book. 

….Now I remember why I don’t like book series. 

I’ve never been very patient. 

2019 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge – A book you think should be turned into a movie
2019 ATY Reading Challenge – A book featuring a historical figure

Leave a comment